Home Music Tiny Desk Live performance : NPR

Tiny Desk Live performance : NPR

Tiny Desk Live performance : NPR


I used to be sure that we would by no means match 14 musicians — taking part in winds, strings, piano, bass and even a vibraphone — behind Bob Boilen’s desk. However the members of the brand new music ensemble Wild Up, with their can-do angle and their effervescent creative director Christopher Rountree, have been fully amenable to being shoved and squeezed and at last fanned out good in entrance of our cameras and microphones.

They traveled all the best way from California to play a single piece by a composer to whom Rountree and his musicians have devoted their lives for the previous few years. Wild Up has simply launched its third album of music by Julius Eastman in a projected seven-volume sequence. Eastman was proudly Black and proudly homosexual, revered in his brief heyday of the Seventies and early ’80s, however tragically misunderstood and almost forgotten by the point of his loss of life in 1990, alone in a Buffalo, N.Y. hospital at age 49.

At this time, as Eastman’s music is being introduced into the highlight by Wild Up and others, he is celebrated as an experimental visionary who brandished his personal provocative manner of getting the listener to consider sound and context.

For this efficiency, the band performs a 15-minute association of an extended piece from 1973 referred to as Keep On It. The music is nothing lower than an exuberant home celebration unto itself, infectious and revelatory.

To carry out Eastman’s works, Rountree says, might be transformational.

“They’re the sort of items you breathe in as a musician, and so they do their work on you,” he explains. “And while you breathe them out once more, you are respiration not solely the piece but additionally a unique model of your self.”



  • Christopher Rountree: creative director, conductor
  • Richard Valitutto: piano
  • Tariq Al-Sabir: voice
  • Shelley Washington: voice
  • Jodie Landau: voice, percussion
  • Sidney Hopson: percussion
  • Darian Donovan Thomas: violin, electronics
  • Andrew Tholl: violin
  • Adrianne Pope: violin
  • Mona Tian: viola
  • Derek Stein: cello
  • Marlon Martinez: electrical bass
  • Patrick Shiroishi: alto saxophone
  • M.A. Tiesenga: baritone saxophone
  • Isabel Lepanto Gleicher: flute


  • Producer: Tom Huizenga
  • Director/Editor: Maia Stern
  • Audio Engineer: Neil Tevault
  • Artistic Director: Bob Boilen
  • Sequence Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Videographers: Maia Stern, Kara Body, Joshua Bryant, Sofia Seidel
  • Audio Assistant: Josephine Nyouani
  • Manufacturing Assistant: Ashley Pointer
  • Photographer: Catie Uninteresting
  • Tiny Desk Crew: Suraya Mohamed, Josh Rogosin, Jill Britton, Marissa Lorusso, Hazel Cills
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here