Home Theatre AMERICAN THEATRE | Excessive Schoolers Lauren A. Marchand, Langston Lee Win High Jimmy Awards

AMERICAN THEATRE | Excessive Schoolers Lauren A. Marchand, Langston Lee Win High Jimmy Awards

AMERICAN THEATRE | Excessive Schoolers Lauren A. Marchand, Langston Lee Win High Jimmy Awards


Finest Efficiency winners Lauren Marchand and Langston Lee carry out on the 2023 Jimmy Awards. (Images by Tricia Baron)

NEW YORK CITY: The 2023 Nationwide Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA), often known as the Jimmy Awards, have been introduced on Thurs. on the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway. The 14th annual showcase, hosted by Corbin Bleu, featured performances by 96 nominees from 48 regional awards applications making their debuts on a Broadway stage. This 12 months a complete of 20 awards and scholarships have been introduced to members.

The Jimmy Awards for Finest Efficiency by an Actress and Finest Efficiency by an Actor have been introduced to Lauren A. Marchand of New York (The Roger Rees Award) and Langston Lee of Austin (Heller Awards for Younger Artists). Each winners acquired $25,000 to additional their training.

The six greatest efficiency finalists, who every acquired a $3,000 scholarship, embrace Samia Posadas (The Monte Awards) of Tucson, Ariz.; Omar Andre Actual (The Lucie Arnaz Awards) of Palm Springs, Calif.; Corbin Drew Ross (Broadway Dallas Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards), Maya Sharma (Kravis Heart Dream Awards) of West Palm Seashore, Fla., Christian Sturdy (CAPA Marquee Awards) of Columbus, Ohio; and Anna Wright (St. Louis Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards).

Offered by the Broadway League Basis Inc., the NHSMTA invitations one Finest Actress and one Finest Actor nominee from every native regional ceremony to New York Metropolis for a weeklong theatre intensive that features teaching classes, coaching, and rehearsals led by trade professionals in preparation for the expertise showcase. Rehearsals and personal teaching occurred at The Juilliard College. The trade coaches who mentored the nominees included Jenni Barber, Max Chernin, Maryann Hu, Adam Kantor, Telly Leung, Howard McGillin, and Desi Oakley.

Further class winners every acquired a $2,000 scholarship. Sophi Keller (Utah Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards) of Logan gained Finest Dancer, introduced by MJ The Musical for excellence in dance and motion; Gage Williams (St. Louis Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards) gained Rising Star, introduced by The John Gore Group for spectacular development in the course of the Jimmy Awards program; Samantha A. Nelson (Applause Awards) of Orlando, Fla. gained Finest Efficiency in an Ensemble, introduced by The Shubert Group for excellent collaboration in the course of the Jimmy Awards program; and Omar Andre Actual gained Spirit of the Jimmys, introduced by Thomas Schumacher and Disney Theatrical Group for embodying the spirit of this musical theatre celebration.

Semifinalist scholarships, co-presented by Blumenthal Performing Arts and McCoy Rigby Leisure, went to Croix Baker (Iowa Excessive College Musical Theater Awards) of Des Moines; Steven Dao (Nebraska Excessive College Theater Academy) of Omaha; Jackson Manning (Philadelphia Independence Awards); Carly Mikula (The Jerry Awards) of Madison, Wisc.; Mia Nelson (Highlight Schooling) of Minneapolis; Annie Sardouk (Broadway Star of the Future) of Tampa, Fla.; Ayden Weinstein (The Kenny Awards) of Buffalo, N.Y.; and Makenzie Woolridge (Tommy Tune Awards) of Houston. The Inspiring Trainer Award, introduced by Wells Fargo, was introduced to Vanessa Lock Gelinas of Oakton Excessive College in Vienna, Va.

Judges for the 2023 Jimmy Awards included Tony Award-winning producers, award-winning casting specialists, and trade leaders resembling Khady Kamara, Joe Machota, Alecia Parker, T. Oliver Reid, Tara Rubin, Nick Scandalios, Thomas Schumacher, Bernie Telsey, and Sergio Trujillo.

Based in 2009 by Nederlander Alliances LLC, Pittsburgh CLO, and Broadway Schooling Alliance (BEA), the mission of the The Jimmy Awards/The Nationwide Excessive College Musical Theatre Awards is to boost the profile of musical theatre in faculties, honor devoted lecturers, and encourage the subsequent era of performers and fanatics. The NHSMTA program impacts 140,000 college students who take part in almost 50 regional excessive musical theatre competitions sponsored by presenters of touring Broadway productions all through america. Named for Broadway producer James M. Nederlander, this system has been the catalyst for greater than $6 million in instructional scholarships.

Help American Theatre: a simply and thriving theatre ecology begins with info for all. Please be a part of us on this mission by making a donation to our writer, Theatre Communications Group. Whenever you assist American Theatre journal and TCG, you assist an extended legacy of high quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click on right here to make your absolutely tax-deductible donation right this moment!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here